Thoughts and Truth from the Impossible Life

Salvation Through Jesus Christ: Why, How, and Afterward

“No One Comes to the Father Except Through Me”

Jesus at the Gates of Heaven For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son,
that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world,
but to save the world through him.

Whoever believes in him is not condemned,
but whoever does not believe stands condemned already
because he has not believed in the name of God’s one and only Son.

John 3:16-18, NIV

Salvation Through Jesus Christ: Why, How, and Afterward

“The Gospel”
1 Corinthians 15: 2-4

By this gospel you are saved,
if you hold firmly to the word I preached to you.
Otherwise, you have believed in vain.
For what I received I passed on to you as of first importance:

that Christ died for our sins according to the Scriptures,
that he was buried, that he was raised on the third day
according to the Scriptures…

Why Do I Need Salvation?

# Man is Separated from God by Sin

And the Lord God commanded the man, “You are free to eat from any tree in the garden; but you must not eat from the tree of the knowledge of good and evil, for when you eat of it you will surely die.”
Genesis 2:16-17

When the woman saw that the fruit of the tree was good for food and pleasing to the eye, and also desirable for gaining wisdom, she took some and ate it. She also gave some to her husband, who was with her, and he ate it.
Genesis 3:6

And the Lord God said, “The man has now become like one of us, knowing good and evil. He must not be allowed to reach out his hand and take also from the tree of life and eat, and live forever.”
Genesis 3:22

# All Men are Sinners

Sin entered the world through one man, and in this way death came to all men, because all sinned.
Romans 5:12

For all have sinned, and fall short of the glory of God.
Romans 3:23

# There is a Penalty for Sin

For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.
Romans 6:23

The soul who sins is the one who will die.
Ezekiel 18:4

For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities — his eternal power and divine nature -— have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that men are without excuse.
Romans 1:20

How Can I Receive Salvation?

# Know Jesus

Ask and it will be given to you. Everyone who asks receives.
Matthew 7:7,8

Look, the Lamb of God, who takes away the sin of the world!
John 1:29

Seek first his kingdom and his righteousness.
Matthew 6:33

I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.
John 14:6

Jesus declared, “I tell you the truth, no one can see the kingdom of God unless he is born again.”
John 3:3

Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and few find it.
Matthew 7:13-14

# Confess Your Sins

That if you confess with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.
Romans 10:9

If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.
1 John 1:9

# Repent of Your Sins

Turn from evil and do good; seek peace and pursue it.
Psalm 34:14

He is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance.
2 Peter 3:9

But unless you repent, you too will all perish.
Luke 13:3

What Happens Afterward?

# A New Spirit

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!
2 Corinthians 5:17

I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh. And I will put my spirit in you and move you to follow my decrees and be careful to keep my laws.
Ezekiel 36:26-27

Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.
Romans 12:2

Peter replied, “Repent and be baptized, every one of you, in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins. And you will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit.”
Acts 2:38

# Blessings

Blessed is he whose transgressions are forgiven, whose sins are covered.
Psalm 32:1

And my God will meet all your needs according to his glorious riches in Christ Jesus.
Philippians 4:19

Therefore, since we have been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ.
Romans 5:1

Blessed are those who dwell in your house.
Psalm 84:4

# Assurance

For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith – and this not from yourselves , it is the gift of God – not by works, so that no one can boast.
Ephesians 2:8-9

Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus, because through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit of life set me free from the law of sin and death.
Romans 8:1-2

I tell you the truth, today you will be with me in paradise.
Luke 23:43

Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.
Hebrews 13:5

Surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.
Matthew 28:20b

“No eye has seen, no ear has heard, no mind has conceived what God has prepared for those who love him.”
1 Corinthians 2:9

“Grace is the unmerited favor and kindness of God, shown to one
who does not deserve it and can never earn it.” ~ Adrian Rogers

There is only one true God — God of the Bible — God the Father.

Jesus is His only Son — God in the form of Man — God the Son.

Jesus said: “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”

God loves you!! He created you to worship Him and to serve Him. He wants to shower you with blessings, joy, serenity, and yet more blessings, plus the promise of eternal life with Him in heaven. If you have not yet asked Him to be your Lord and Savior, you do can do it right now. You don’t have to be on your knees. You don’t need witnesses. You don’t need a clergyman. All that is required of you is to ask with a sincere heart. Use this example or offer a similar prayer in your own words:

Dear Lord Jesus, I know I am a sinner. I am unworthy of your love and grace.
I need forgiveness. I know I can’t save myself. I believe you are the true Son of God
and that you died on the cross as a substitute for me. I am placing my trust in you.
Please come into my heart and my life, and make me new.
Please be my Lord and Savior. Thank you for this gift of salvation. Amen.

 

November 26, 2010 - Posted by | Christianity / God, Mormon Christianity, Understanding Islam | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

