Thoughts and Truth from the Impossible Life

Understanding John Chapter 5 verses 30 through 32

Smith's later theology described Jesus and God...

I can of mine own self do nothing: as I hear, I judge: and my judgment is just; because I seek not mine own will, but the will of MY FATHER which hath sent me. If I bear witness of myself, my witness is not true. There is another that beareth witness of me; and I know that the witness which he witnesseth of me is true.  – John 5:30-32

 

And, these verses explained: There is another (That is, God. See John 5:36.) – God the Father, who, by his Spirit in your prophets, described my person, office, and miracles. You read these scriptures, and you cannot help seeing that they testify of me: – no person ever did answer the description there given, but myself; and I answer to that description in the fullest sense of the word. See John 5:39.

And I know – Instead of οιδα, I know, οιδατε, ye know, is the reading of the Codex Bezae, Armenian, and two of the Itala. Ye believe the Scriptures to be of God, and that he cannot lie; and yet ye will not believe in me, though these Scriptures have so clearly foretold and described me! It is not one of the least evils attending unbelief, that it acts not only in opposition to God, but it also acts inconsistently with itself. It receives the Scriptures in bulk, and acknowledges them to have come through Divine inspiration; and yet believes no part separately. With it the whole is true, but no part is true! The very unreasonableness of this conduct shows the principle to have come from beneath, were there no other evidences against it.

 

 

February 25, 2012 - Posted by | Christianity / God, Daily Gospel | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

