Thoughts and Truth from the Impossible Life

Forgiveness

“As far as the east is from the west, So far has He removed our transgressions from us. 
Psalm 103:12

 

Recently I was thanking the Father for his mercy.  And I began listing the sins he’d forgiven.  “Remember the time I…” But I stopped.  Something was wrong.  It didn’t fit.
Does he remember?

 

Then I remembered.  I remembered his words in Hebrews 8:12: “And I will remember their sins no more.”  Wow!

 

God doesn’t just forgive, he forgets.  He erases the board.  He destroys the evidence. He burns the microfilm.  He clears the computer.  He doesn’t remember!

 

No, he doesn’t, but I do, you do.  That horrid lie.  The time you exploded in anger.  That date.  That jealousy.  That habit.  Spiteful specters that slyly suggest, “Are you really forgiven?”

 

Do you think God was teasing when he said, “I will remember your sins no more?”  Of course you don’t.  You and I just need an occasional reminder of God’s nature.  His forgetful nature!

 

May 11, 2012 - Posted by | Christianity / God | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] Forgiveness (paulmarcelrene.wordpress.com) Rate this: Share this:ShareEmailPrintDiggFacebookTwitterStumbleUponRedditLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

    Pingback by Mohammad confirms his terrible sins in prayer « Thoughts and Truth from the Impossible Life | May 19, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

