Thoughts and Truth from the Impossible Life

Raped, pregnant and ordeal not over and approved by Sharia

Photos of the Sunday, August 22, 2010 Park51 (...

See on Scoop.itCoffee Party Feminists

by SHAUNA PREWITT, CNN.com

In a rape case it is the victim, not the defendant, who is on trial. But blaming myself was neither my idea nor my first inclination. I thought such 17th-century notions were long dead. I was wrong. People who did not even know me were quick to comment or speculate on my rape. What were you wearing? Did you scream loudly? Did this occur in public?

It would not be long before I would learn firsthand that in the vast majority of states — 31 — men who father through rape are able to assert the same custody and visitation rights to their children that other fathers enjoy. When no law prohibits a rapist from exercising these rights, a woman may feel forced to bargain away her legal rights to a criminal trial in exchange for the rapist dropping the bid to have access to her child.

 

I know it because I lived it. I went to law school to learn how to stop it.

 

[MORE]

See on edition.cnn.com

 

According to Sharia, the man has all claims to the children regardless of the circumstances of the pregnancy. As muslim men are allowed to rape non-muslim women and are ordered to engage in “baby jihad”, it seems that these states without protection for the victim and the child are ripe targets for creeping sharia in America.

August 25, 2012 - Posted by | Politics/Government/Freedom, Societal / Cultural Issues, Understanding Islam | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. […] See on Scoop.it – Coffee Party Feminists by SHAUNA PREWITT, CNN.com In a rape case it is the victim, not the defendant, who is on trial. But blaming myself was neither my idea nor my first in…  […]

    Pingback by Raped, pregnant and ordeal not over and approved by Sharia | Islam Revealed | Scoop.it | August 25, 2012 | Reply

  2. […] See on Scoop.it – Coffee Party Feminists by SHAUNA PREWITT, CNN.com In a rape case it is the victim, not the defendant, who is on trial. But blaming myself was neither my idea nor my first in…  […]

    Pingback by Raped, pregnant and ordeal not over and approved by Sharia | Islam : danger planétaire | Scoop.it | September 4, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

